VPC or Higher Education and Science Information Technology Shared Service Centre supports the development and international competitiveness of higher education and scientific institutions of Latvia by integrating, developing and providing high-quality shared information technology services. Under the mandate of the Government of Latvia VPC is the liaison for global academic ICT services in Latvia.

VPC founders are four major universities of Latvia – University of Latvia, Riga Technical University, Latvia University of Life Sciences and Technologies, and Riga Stradiņš University. Other higher education and science institutions can join as members. Ministry of Education and Science of Latvia is the responsible Ministry for overseeing provision of ICT services to Latvia’s academic community. In that capacity it oversees VPC operations and allocates public funding.

To date members of VPC all together represent 58% of Latvia’s students and 64% of researchers and scientists.



Agrita Kiopa
Chairman of the Board
Vice Rector for Research at Rīga Stradiņš University

Elīna Gaile-Sarkane
Board Member
Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs at Riga Technical University (RTU)

John Tully
Board Member
MikroTik CEO

Irina Arhipova
Board Member
Vice-Rector for Science at Latvia University of Life Sciences and Technologies

Signe Bāliņa
Board Member
President at LIKTA


Jānis Grēviņš
VPC Director